A Court of Thorns and Roses: A Guide to the Hit Series

Every product on this page was carefully chosen. I may earn a commission if you make a purchase through a link. See my full disclosure.

Lose yourself in the enchanting world of Prythian and explore the fantastical lands of Faerie alongside the Archeron sisters in the New York Times bestselling series A Court of Thorns and Roses

Since its release, ACOTAR has amassed a fiercely loyal fanbase that is likely to increase, and with good reason. With expert storytelling and complex world-building, engaging characters, numerous awards, its popularity on BookTok, and the release of the upcoming Hulu adaptation, A Court of Thorns and Roses is a staple in the fantasy genre and on many bookshelves.

Read on to learn more about the A Court of Thorns and Roses series in this comprehensive guide which includes information on the series’ book order and similar books to read after finishing the hit series.

What is the premise of the ACOTAR series?

ACOTAR tells the tale of Feyre Archeron, a mortal huntress whisked away to the magic realm of the Fae after murdering one of their kind, and the all-consuming love and unimaginable challenges that follow her entry into their deceptively dangerous world.

A Court of Thorns and Roses Series Order:

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre shoots a wolf, she quickly realizes her mistake when she discovers it is anything but a mere wolf. With no way to escape retribution by the Fae, Feyre is dragged to a magical kingdom and taken captive. 

Despite the beauty of the magical land, Feyre holds nothing but contempt for her captor, the mysterious, green-eyed High Fae Tamlin, and a burning desire to return home. However, that contempt slowly transforms into a burning passion that becomes impossible to ignore. 

But something evil lurks in the shadows of Faerie, and there will come a time when Feyre will face a choice – One that will forever change her future and decide the fate of the world. 

Click Here To Buy

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Once a powerless mortal held hostage in the Spring Court, now an immortal High Fae being pulled in opposite directions by two powerful Fae: Tamlin, the ruler of the Spring Court and her soon-to-be husband, and Rhysand, the High Lord of the Night Court and the subject of Feyre’s interest.

Feyre may have lived to tell the tale of her time Under the Mountain, but she has not yet escaped the nightmarish memories that continue to haunt her. However, evil waits for no one, and if Feyre hopes to keep her loved ones safe, she must learn how to harness the unparalleled powers gifted to her before time runs out.

Click Here To Buy

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

When Feyre left the Spring Court, she did not expect to return as a spy. Thrust into a dangerous game of politics and deceit, Feyre must infiltrate the court she once promised to rule if she ever hopes to glean information about Tamlin’s suspicious actions and news about the invading king before it is too late. 

Click Here To Buy

A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas

In this sweet, festive addition to the ACOTAR series, Feyre is preparing for her first Winter Solstice as High Lady while working tirelessly alongside Rhysand and their friends to rebuild the Night Court in the aftermath of the war. 

Click Here To Buy

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Silver Flames tells the story of Nesta Archeron, the prickly newly-turned Fae drowning in bitter resentment, and Cassian, the battle-hardened warrior with a penchant for pushing every single one of Nesta’s buttons. Together, they forge their own paths to redemption while battling the monsters set on destroying them. 

Click Here To Buy

A Court of Thorns and Roses Bundle

Immerse yourself in the fantastical world of the A Court of Thorns and Roses series with the complete set.

Click Here To Buy

What awards did A Court of Thorns and Roses win?

A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Wings and Ruin both took home the Goodreads Choice Award for Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction and A Court of Silver Flames won the Goodreads Choice Award for Best Fantasy in 2021.

Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses

Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses with Faeries

Emily Wilde’s Encyclopedia of Faeries by Heather Fawcett

Cambridge professor Emily Wilde has always been fascinated by the Fair Folk. When her work takes her to the tiny village of Hrafnsvik, she has no plans of making friends with the townsfolk, especially not with her insufferable academic and mysterious rival, Wendall Bambleby, who seems to stunt her and her research at every turn.    

House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

Half-Fae and half-human Bryce Quinlan is out for blood after learning that her closest friends were murdered. With help from the infamous Fallen angel Hunt Athalar, Bryce plans on finding the murderer and getting justice for her friends.

Rhapsodic by Laura Thalassa

Siren Callypso (Callie) Lillis is a present-day bounty hunter. When she was a teenager, she called upon The Bargainer to clean up a mess, and with no one to rely on but herself, she continued calling him back for more and more favors. But every visit came at a price – One she must pay seven years later.

Fantasy Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses 

From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout

From Blood and Ash is a mesmerizing tale that centers around a nineteen-year-old girl destined to fulfill a prophecy she knows nothing about – One she questions more and more in the face of temptation. 

Gild by Raven Kennedy

When Auren is plucked out of the slums and given refuge within King Midas’s golden court, she knows it is all a smoke screen – a gilded cage. For nearly a decade, she has lived behind those gold-crusted bars in complete acceptance, but her trust is put to the test when war makes its way to those golden gates, leading to a deal that changes everything.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

When the masked soldiers, known as the Masks, arrest Laia’s brother, she strikes a deal with the resistance, one that forces Laia to enter Blackcliff Military Academy as a slave in order to spy on the Commandant. While there, she meets Elias, the son of the Commandant, and the boy whose life intertwines with hers.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

When criminal prodigy Kaz Brekkar gets a once-in-a-lifetime chance to earn an insane amount of money, he takes it. But to successfully carry out this deadly mission, Kaz will need to recruit the best crew the Barrels can provide.