10 Best Mythology Retelling Books That Are Epic

Last updated:
*This post may contain affiliate links, which means I may receive a small commission, at no cost to you, if you make a purchase through a link. See my full disclosure.

mythology retelling books

Walk amongst the Gods when you open up these mesmerizing mythological retellings. From Madeline Miller’s unputdownable bestsellers to refreshing reimaginings of Hades and Persephone’s epic tale, this curated list has a fun and inventive array of myth retellings.

Read on for the best mythological retellings.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

The Song of Achilles tells the epic love story of Achilles and Patroclus, an affair that could only end in one way – Tragedy. 

Madeline Miller gives us a memorable story that delves into the complexities of the renowned warrior and his most faithful companion. 

Riveting, unique, and beautifully told, The Song of Achilles is a masterful take on The Iliad and the all-encompassing love that blossoms between Achilles and Patroclus. 

Alongside the love story is the unforgettable tale of war, glory, sacrifice, redemption, and friendship – A feat that is utter perfection.

Click Here To Buy

Circe by Madeline Miller

Before Circe became known as the Goddess of Sorcery, she was nothing but a strange child in the eyes of her father, Helios, the Sun God. However, upon discovering the world of the occult in the mortal dimension, Circe finds that she does have power – a power soon deemed too threatening by the Gods – a power that provokes her banishment to a small, deserted island. And that power will live on in the legends of the human world.

For an enriching mythological retelling of the Goddess of Sorcery, I recommend Madeline Miller’s beautifully woven take on Homer’s The Odyssey with Circe

Click Here To Buy

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes

In A Thousand Ships, Natalie Haynes gives us the highly-anticipated take on the Trojan War and its aftermath through the women’s perspective. With over twenty voices, a mix of human women and goddesses, Haynes gives these individuals a voice and allows them to tell their stories.

For the women’s take on the Trojan War, I recommend getting your hands on A Thousand Ships, an epic page-turner perfect for readers who love mythology retelling books.  

Click Here To Buy

Lore Olympus: Volume One by Rachel Smythe

In Lore Olympus, Rachel Smythe brings us a contemporary retelling of Persephone and Hades.

Raised in the mortal realm, Persephone is new to Olympus and the glitzy lifestyle of the gods. When her roommate Artemis brings her to a party, she never would have guessed that it would forever change her life because it is at that party that she meets the misunderstood God of the Underworld, Hades.

Witty, sexy, and visually stunning, Lore Olympus: Volume One is a beautifully crafted mythological retelling perfect for fans of Persephone and Hade’s reimaginings. As one of the best mythology retelling books, you cannot go wrong with this unputdownable page-turner.

Click Here To Buy

The Witch’s Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

The Witch’s Heart follows Angrboda, a powerful witch who took refuge in a remote forest after surviving the burning by the Norse Gods. Though she is determined to remain alone, her plans are quickly foiled when her path crosses with Loki’s. 

Falling in love was never a part of the plan, but with each kind act, Loki steals her heart, piece by piece. But good things never last and when Angrboda foresees an ominous prophecy that threatens the peace and safety of her family, she knows it’s time to rise against the gods.

Beautiful, spellbinding and timeless, The Witch’s Heart is a stunning mythological romance that will stay on your mind for days. As one of the best mythology retelling books, I suggest adding this gem to your bookshelf.

Click Here To Buy

Lore by Alexandra Bracken

The Argon offers the ultimate prize for descendants of ancient bloodlines: immortality and divinity. 

Lore Perseous left that life behind after the tragic annihilation of her family at the hands of a rival line. 

In a shocking turn of events, Lore is offered an alliance with the goddess Athena who promises her vengeance on the man responsible for the brutal massacre of her family.

For a fun and inventive take on Greek mythology, I recommend cracking open Lore because it is one of the best YA mythology retelling books.

Click Here To Buy

Ariadne by Jennifer Saint

In Ariadne, Jennifer Saint tells the story of Ariadne, Princess of Crete. When Theseus, Prince of Athens, comes to slay the minotaur that dwells beneath her palace, she knows it is her chance to escape the confines of the palace walls and find love. But nothing is ever as simple as it seems, and in the times of the Gods, it could spell the end of her story.

Complex, heartbreaking, and mesmerizing, Ariadne is a beautifully written mythological retelling, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller’s bestselling novel Circe.

Click Here To Buy

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

In Norse Mythology, Nel Gaiman gives life to Odin, Thor, and Loki in all their mysterious, thunderous, and tricksy glory. 

For a fresh take on Norse mythology, I recommend getting your hands on Norse Mythology. Featuring a collection of stories, Gaiman puts a modern spin on these myths with his signature style and humor.

Click Here To Buy

Daughter of Sparta by Claire M. Andrews

Since she was a young girl, Daphne has dedicated her entire life to becoming a warrior that will be accepted by the ancient people of Sparta. 

Daphne’s dreams fall apart when she is approached by the goddess Artemis and ordered to recover nine important relics, or else her brother’s life will be forfeit. 

With Apollo’s help, Daphne’s journey will take her from the labyrinth of the Minotaur to the Sphinx of Thebes to Theseus and more.

Daughter of Sparta is an unforgettable retelling, perfect for fans of Greek mythology, nonstop action, and strong female leads.

Click Here To Buy

Mythos: The Greek Myths Reimagined by Stephen Fry

With Mythos, prepare to refresh your memory bank with these classic Greek myths in a fun and uncomplicated manner. From classical legends like Pandora’s box to the legendary tales of the Olympians in all their glory, Stephen Fry gives us a trip down the mythological memory lane.  

Click Here To Buy